MARYLAND SUFFRAGE NEWS

as second-class matter December 14, 1912, at the postoffice at Raltimore, Maryland, under the Act of Maryland

Vol. III, No

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 24, 1914

Five Cents



DEDICATION

To the poor women without homes, to the little toilers who should be in the schools and playgrounds, to the white slaves in their tragic bondage, and to the children who die, these pages are dedicated! May every woman who is not too idle to have a thought, or too vain to have a soul, or too rich in gold to have a heart, join in the great struggle for women's freedom!

r women's freedom! Purity, Liberty, Justice—these we must work for!

TABLE OF CONTENTS

- Page		Page
The Semi-annual Convention 233, 234 Semi-annual Reports 235 Old age Pensions 238, 237 Events of the Week 237	Letter Column. The Lamp of Sacrifice.	239

THE SEMI-ANNUAL CONVENTION

County and City Members of the Just Government League Enjoy Hospitality of the Anne Arundel County League.

A fine autumn day, a genuine feeling of comradeship, and true Southern hospitality combined to make the semi-annual convention of the Just Government League of Maryland, held on October 19 in Annapolis, Md., a memorable occasion. Seven local leagues were represented at the convention by the following delegates:

Anne Arundel County—Mrs. Robert Moss, Mrs. W. O. Stevens, Mrs. Duvall, Mrs. Swann, Miss Hall, Mrs. Davidson, Mrs. Smith, Mrs. King, Mrs. Hall, Mrs. Pumphrey, Mrs. Richardson, Miss Drewry.

Baltimore County—Mrs. Townsend Scott, Miss Marjory Soper, Mrs. C. J. Ogle, Mrs. Howard Schwarz, Mrs. Wm. J. Ewing.

Baltimore City—Miss Minnie Jackson, Dr. Rose Sullivay, Mrs. W. P. Holmes, Mrs. S. V. Coulter, Mrs. S. R. Cramblitt, Miss J. B. Smith, Mrs. N. J. Carr. Mrs. C. D. Warfield, Mrs. C. J. Keller, Mrs. D. C. Redgrave, Miss Maria Martin, Mrs. Almira Sweeten, Mrs. F. M. Goodwin, Dr. Faunie E. Hoopes, Miss Henrietta Dickson.

Carroll County—Mrs. L. Kerr, Mrs. O. D. Gilbert, Mrs. F. H. Knapp, Mrs. Wm. H. Vanderford.

Howard County - Mrs. B. J. Byrne, Mrs. Nora Myer, Miss Marjory dathews.

Montgomery County—Misses Mary M. Stabler, Ida Dove, Elizabeth Keyes, Mesdames L. I. Hayes, A. S. Worthington, J. R. Thomsen, E. W. Koch, Azro Carey, J. W. Stone, R. T. Worthington, Mrs. M. E. Brooke and Mrs. Parsons.

Talbot County - Mrs. E. J. Kirby.

Fraternal Delegates.

For the first time in the history of the league fraternal delegates were present. Mrs. S. Johnson Poe represented the Equal Suffrage League of Baltimore, and Mrs. Webb Peploe represented the W. C. T. U. Both of the visitors addressed the convention and were warmly applanded.

The Morning and Afternoon Sessions.

Reports of the officers, of the standing committees and of the county leagues occupied the entire morning session. The delegates were much gratified at the large amount of work reported. During the afternoon session the policy of the league in State and national suffrage work was considered, and the convention went on record as endorsing only the Bristow-Mondell amendment. The previous policy of the State League